Pregnancy After Miscarriage

Yesterday I published the very personal and tragic story of my own miscarriage, and the outpouring of support was overwhelming.  So many other mommas had a story that was almost exactly like mine.  It’s a pretty crappy club of which to be a part, as a friend and I discussed last night.  One thing I heard several times was women who had had a miscarriage were worried they would have another one or have already had another one.  I wanted to share my experience with that.  After I lost Eli, a sweet friend of mine shared with me that she had a miscarriage and with the next pregnancy she had her progesterone checked.  It was too low, and with progesterone supplementation she was able to sustain her pregnancy, and now has 3 healthy boys.

So when I was pregnant for the second time, I called a doctor in the town to which we had just moved in order to get a blood test. Get this:  they REFUSED!  They would not even see me until I was 12 weeks along.  I told her (the nurse on the phone) that she and I both knew if I was going to miscarry it was most likely going to be in the first trimester, and coming in at 12 weeks would be too late.  She beat around the bush but basically implied that they don’t see women until after 12 weeks so that they’re pretty much assured it’s a viable pregnancy.  And she said I didn’t have a history of multiple miscarriages, so they wouldn’t do the test.  I asked her, “So how many dead babies do I have to have for you to do a simple blood test?”  She restated that one miscarriage was not a history of miscarriage and that if I wanted the test I’d have to go somewhere else.  I was livid!!!  I felt like there was no respect for the sanctity of life coming from that woman at all!  I was able to call my old OB in my hometown, and they did the test.  I was very low on progesterone, I was given a prescription, and I was able to carry my baby to term.  That was my firstborn, Caleb.  Every pregnancy since, I’ve had “dangerously low” progesterone and have had to take progesterone capsules throughout the first trimester, and after that I’m fine.  Something so simple as a blood test and a pill saved my babies.

At some point, after moving and not remaining in contact with my friend, I called her up to say thank you.  You see, she had shared her story with me and gave me what ended up being the solution for me.  She had the same information shared with her from her sister who went through the same thing.  And I was calling her that day because my mother just called to let me know that the daughter of a man she worked with was now pregnant for the second time. . .because the first time she had a miscarriage and my mom asked me to share my story with her, and sure enough she also had low progesterone with the second pregnancy and was able to take medication to sustain it.  I love how we can use our painful experiences to help other.  So, that’s why I’m sharing this with you today.  Does every miscarriage happen because of low progesterone?  No, absolutely not; but it’s quite common, and it’s something that can be determined by a blood test, so isn’t it at least worth looking into if you’ve had a miscarriage before?  I’m not a doctor, and I don’t claim to be giving medical advice, but I would suggest that if you have had a miscarriage and are pregnant again, speak to your doctor or midwife about testing your progesterone levels.  Mine were bad enough that I took a high dose in capsule form, but there is also progesterone cream you can buy over the counter.  Do your research, talk to your doctor, and may the grace of God comfort you!

One response to “Pregnancy After Miscarriage

  1. Pingback: Miscarriage – Mourning the Loss of Our Baby | Rebecca Meals

Leave a Reply

