What is “Crunchy”?

1460238_748382821844649_1331638076_n

I’m what people around here call “crunchy”.  It’s a synonym of “granola”, used to describe a lifestyle that revolves around natural things.  That includes a whole host of different things, such as natural medicine, natural baby feeding (breastfeeding and baby led weaning), natural eating (anything from clean eating, whole foods, organic, to gardening and fermenting), natural birth, attachment parenting, babywearing, cloth diapering, et al.  There are differing degrees of “crunchiness”.  There are some of us who do a few things, but not that many.  Some are more middle of the road, and others still are all out full crunchy. Some people like to call us “hippies”.  I’ve never liked that word personally, because it evokes in my mind visions of the 1960s, with all the “make love not war”, free love, dope smoking crowd.  That’s not me.  At all.  So I much prefer crunchy over hippie.  Sometimes my husband calls me a hippie just to get a rise out of me.  He’s a big agitator, that man!

Something I have really noticed here in this small town is that there aren’t a whole lot of people who share my crunchiness, nor do they really understand it.  So, I’m starting a series of blog posts that deal with several of these topics.  I really want to raise awareness of some of these things, because many people don’t even know that they are options that might work for their family.  Many things are not “mainstream” and they may have negative reactions from people.  I, in fact, had negative reactions to some of these things when I first heard about them, in part because I wasn’t used to them and in part because my pediatricians were mainstream and told me not to do some of them.  I took them at their word and didn’t give it a second thought…until my son was diagnosed with autism.  That was truly the catalyst that caused me to search for alternatives.

I had to answer a question for myself, just one question: What did God intend when He created us?  I prayed and prayed, and researched for hours at a time, for months and now years.  I sought to determine if He had a way that was better than the way I had been doing things.  I don’t claim to have all the answers, and I don’t claim that what works for my family is the way that every other person on earth should do things.  With that being said, here are some of the things I felt God was laying on my heart.

1. God created our bodies fearfully and wonderfully.  He made us with an immune system, with a reproductive system, and hormones and chemicals that work a certain way.  He created a beautiful way for us to feed our babies, and He gave us the earth and everything in it to nurture our bodies.  This realization has shaped my views on natural childbirth, breastfeeding, baby led weaning, vaccines, co-sleeping, clean eating, natural medicine, natural cleaning, and chemical use.

2. God gave me the responsibility over HIS children…they are temporarily in my care, and I am charged with raising them in a manner that He laid out for me.  This has affected my decision to be a stay-at-home-mom and homeschool my children.  It also has an impact on how I discipline and train up my children, and what values and morals I am striving to instill in them.

3. God placed upon my heart the fact that I need to be content in Him, and that when the focus is not on him, then I am holding some other idol ahead of Him.  This makes a difference in the lifestyle I’m trying to live.  I’d like to live simply.  This is certainly a work in progress for me.  It’s a journey I’ve barely started.  This involves gardening, raising animals, cooking from scratch, and the parenting issues that revolve around not indulging my children and helping them find contentment in the simple things in life.  It’s the idea of getting back to nature, being still and quiet and enjoying creation, and not being obsessed with the latest and greatest gadget, among other things.

This is not an exhaustive list, and it’s ever evolving as I open my heart to listen for the Holy Spirit’s guidance in my life.  It will be interesting, I’m sure, to look back upon this post one day and see how far I’ve come.  Join me on my adventure!

8 responses to “What is “Crunchy”?

  1. Great post! I have certainly changed over the years as I’ve learned about natural living and become more comfortable moving away from mainstream. I look forward to future posts of yours! 🙂

      • Thank you, Valerie! It certainly is an adventure with many twists and turns along the way. I can’t believe how much I’ve changed since my first baby! I look forward to telling y’all about that in some of my future blog posts. 🙂

  2. Rebecca, I was thinking of you today and what a very special young woman you are. I think God has given you courage and strength to live according to His plans for you and these wondeful young men you are raising. Jeremiah 6:16 speaks of returning to the old paths. I believe you have found great contentment in fulfilling the role God has created you for as a woman, a wife and a mother! May the Lord bless you as you give courage to other women to embrace all that God has for them.

    • Thank you, Betty! That means the world to me. I love you so much, and I’m so happy for the support and encouragement from godly women like you! 🙂

  3. I love the photo of the boys 🙂 Your bald headed boys hehe. I was just talking to Rob the other day about growing and changing as people. It’s always interesting to see where you started and what brought you to where you are now. (Btw, if you click on my link, you’ll notice I don’t have any posts lol I “started” my blog several months ago and never posted anything so you are doing much better than me! Haha)
    Kels

Leave a Reply

